[RPG] If you are falling, can you Misty Step to the ground to avoid damage


If I fall off a cliff – say, 1000 feet – can I wait (readied action?) until I am near enough to the ground (my understanding is you fall 500 ft/round) then misty step safely to the ground? Or, does the momentum from the fall carry over through the teleport and I still splatter across the rocks?

Best Answer

You can't ready bonus actions. They can only be done on your turn. and so you can't ready misty step as a bonus action (you need a bonus action to use misty step) and use it to survive the fall.

A bonus action can be taken only on your turn. You, therefore, can't use Ready with a bonus action. #DnD

The lead rules designer confirmed it.

As V2Blast noted, the top answer to this question says that momentum is conserved.

That said, you could ask your DM about this.

When you describe an action not detailed elsewhere in the rules, the DM tells you whether that action is possible and what kind of roll you need to make, if any, to determine success or failure. p193 PHB

I might allow an acrobatics skill check to use the spell to alter your momentum, and land somewhere safer. Portal style momentum alteration, not negation.