I'm trying to learn enough Savage Worlds to start running a little experimental game. I keep feeling like the rules are explained poorly, but it may just be that my brain is not ready to learn.
The current bit I'm stuck on is initiative. I'd normally assume that initiative is computed once per combat. That's fairly typical, and would make sense. At the start of combat, each combatant or group is dealt in, then each round turns occur in order. This text is confusing, though:
In addition, the hero adds +2 to all trait tests made this round, and +2 to damage!
Reshuffle the deck after a Joker is dealt to any character.
Why is "this round" specified, if it lasts for the entire combat? Does it only last the first round?